For the Day:

Heritage Status

New Delhi

The University Grants Commission has granted “heritage” status to 19 institutions across the country,  with an aim to conserve college campuses that are more than 100 years old. Out of the 60 proposals received, the selection Committee approved 19. Among the Christian institutions that have been granted the status include St.Xavier’s, Mumbai; CMS, Kottayam; St Joseph’s, Trichy; St Bede’s, Shimla, Christ Church, Kanpur, St Xavier’s, Kolkata, Cotton, Guwahati. Others are: Old Agra College, Meerut College, Langat Singh, in Bihar, Brennan, Kerala; University College, Mangalore, Midnapore, W.B, Govt. Medical Science, Jabalpur,  Fergusson, Pune, Hislop, Nagpur, Gandhi Memorial, Jammu and Kanya Mahavidyalya, Jalandhar.